Life Update

Life Update: 6/19 – 6/30

My last life update, I had just graduated from college and moved out of my NorCal apartment and back home. Right now I’m in the transition period between college and postgrad. Since I’ve graduated so early, I’m trying to find the right balance between not pushing myself unnecessarily hard (as I tend to do) while also making a most of this jumpstart.

I think I’ve been doing pretty well so far. I’m still waiting on a lot of things, naturally, but just two days after returning home, I found out I’d been accepted as a contributor to Wayward Sisters. I also finished college strong: I got a 4.0 last quarter, bringing my undergrad GPA up to a very solid 3.8!

Mostly, though, I’ve been writing. I’m finally making good progress on revisions and I’m very pleased–I should be able to have a polished draft in time for Pitch Wars. I’ve also managed to draft half of my Wayward Sisters story script!

Because I’m out of school now, I’ve decided to make my Life Updates monthly instead of weekly. Hope to have more to report next month. I’m hopeful.

WHAT I’VE BEEN READING/WATCHING/LISTENING TO

♦ BOOKS: read WANT by Cindy Pon and BINU AND THE GREAT WALL by Su Tong. I also snagged a gorgeous ARC of HEROINE WORSHIP by Sarah Kuhn!

♦ MOVIES: lots of DC animated movies: 3 rather different takes on Batman (BATMAN: RETURN OF THE CAPED CRUSADERS with Adam West and Burt Ward, Bruce Timm’s JUSTICE LEAGUE: GODS AND MONSTERS, and THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE) as well as TEEN TITANS: THE JUDAS CONTRACT. Also JOHN WICK, SEEKING A FRIEND FOR THE END OF THE WORLD, IT COMES AT NIGHT (my favorite), and THE BEGUILED.

♦ MUSIC: Amber Coffman’s City of No Reply.

♦ TV: Watched the first two episodes of GLOW, but wasn’t that into it. Also joining in on cousin viewings of The Bachelorette! (It’s a LOT more enjoyable to watch Rachel than friggin’ Nick Viall.)

Leave a Reply

