Writing

#PimpMyBio: Pitch Wars 2017!

I’m entering Pitch Wars this year, so here’s my introduction! Thanks to Lana Pattinson for hosting #PimpMyBio–you can learn about the other hopefuls here!

ABOUT ME: 

My name is Aimee! I’m a 21-year-old from SoCal who just graduated from college (as in, literally just two weeks ago). I write high-concept, genre-bending kidlit fiction that tries to blend clever plots with an offbeat sense of humor (think the Cornetto Trilogy). I’m also a Ravenclaw who loves wordplay, random facts, and badass women’s history. I once won a Bananagrams tournament and was a finalist in a ‘can you write the worst opening sentence to a novel?’ contest.

In college, I interned as a remote reader for a literary agent, so I have experience on the other side of publishing from evaluating both MG and YA manuscripts at varying stages in the editorial process. I majored in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing; for my honors thesis, I wrote a children’s horror story inspired by Asian horror cinema under  the supervision of my Children’s Literature professor and the award-winning writer Yiyun Li, which was one of the most mind-blowing experiences of my life. I also am contributing a short story to Wayward Sisters, an upcoming comics anthology about female monsters!

View More: http://poemacollective.pass.us/aimeegrad

In addition to my thesis, I’ve previously had mentorship experience through amazing opportunities from Justina Ireland as well as Gwenda Bond. I’ve learned so much from being mentored, but my manuscript has changed a *ton* since then–I literally found out about the Writing in the Margins program the day before last year’s deadline, and basically sent in a first draft. The feedback I got inspired me to take a deep breath and then basically rewrite the story with a dramatically changed plot. It took a lot of banging my head against the wall, but I think my story is much stronger for it.

Since I just graduated a year early from college, I have a pretty free summer, so I would have a lot of time to focus on my mentorship. I pride myself on not missing deadlines, am quick to respond, and very open to feedback, and generally would be a hardworking and dedicated mentee. I’m really determined to dedicate these next few months to my writing, so Pitch Wars would be an incredible opportunity for me. I’m also very attracted to the community aspect and would really love to meet other writers!

ABOUT MY BOOK 

My book, IDENTITY CRISISis a middle-grade story about heroes, villains, and secret identities in the age of the Internet. There’s a hero named Renaissance Man who fights crime with equipment inspired by inventions in Leonardo Da Vinci’s notebooks, a 14-year-old hero-slash-viral celebrity who vlogs about her adventures on her YouTube channel, a teen girl conspiracy theorist whose ideas might not be as demented as they sound, and one random anonymous Internet user who just may be the biggest threat to superheroes yet, as well as a bunch of other colorful characters who may not be as heroic they seem. Think Young Justice with a postmodern, digital twist.

I’ve been working on this MS for two years now, but I’ve grown a lot as a writer in that time and so has the story–as I’ve mentioned above, the third draft was almost a complete rewrite. I grew up on superhero stories, so this is a dream project for me. As a kid, I loved The Powerpuff Girls and Teen Titans, and I’m in awe of Paul Dini and Bruce Timm’s take on the DC universe–I just rewatched the Justice League animated series and thought it was brilliant. And yes, I love superhero movies, all the way from the original Spider-Man movies with Tobey Maguire to Nolan’s Batman movies to Logan and Wonder Woman! Here’s what my grad cap looks like from the back:

View More: http://poemacollective.pass.us/aimeegrad

FAVE BOOKS 

I have somewhat eclectic tastes, but some MG and YA books I’ve loved include:

♥ A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

♥ A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

♥ The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

♥ The Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley

♥ The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang

♥ Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

♥ The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

♥ The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

♥ Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

OTHER FAVES

WONDER WOMAN!

giphy

Samurai Jack!

tumblr_onfoyx1jdz1uhw2k1o1_400

Thanks for reading! And please, feel free to say hi!

4 thoughts on “#PimpMyBio: Pitch Wars 2017!

  1. Great bio! And your novel sounds like so much fun to read! I enjoy reading middle books because they are adorable, and the characters are young kids with big ideas, and yours sounds exactly like that! Good luck to you this year!😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

