Life Update

Life Update: 5/30 – 6/3

Last week was the last before finals start! I’m going to be busy the rest of this week working on papers, but just a quick recap:

♥ My roommate’s ridiculously nice mom sent us all dinner as a surprise for her birthday!

♥ I went to Raja’s Tandoor with a friend and noticed that the very sweet old man, Taranbir, who runs the restaurant was his usual very sweet self again after having had a stroke a while back. That made me happy and I wanted to share it with you all.

♥ I attended another Confucius Institute lecture, this one on Chinese food and wine culture in related to the major festivals! There was food and wine too, but I was only to grab a zongzi and some shredded potatoes on my way out because…

♥ WONDER WOMAN.

♥ I PICKED UP MY CAP AND GOWN.

SCHOOL RECAP

Short school week on account of Memorial Day. Yusuf Komunyakaa’s “My father’s love letters”, Ishmael Reed’s “Untitled I,” and Graham Foust’s “Academia” and “Politics” in Contemporary American Poetry. Returned to the People’s Republic of China in time for the Cultural Revolution + guest lecture on Acting Confucian in Chinese Poetry. Arna Bontemps’ Black Thunder and Richard Wright’s Uncle Tom’s Children in American Lit. Book IV of Troilus and Criseyde in Chaucer.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC

Read Geling Yan’s THE LOST DAUGHTER OF HAPPINESS as well as more H.P. Lovecraft, including The Shadow over Innsmouth! Listened to Carly Rae Jepsen’s EMOTION and Vashti Bunyan’s Just Another Diamond Day, though my favorite musical discovery was Nina Simone’s exquisite version of “Suzanne.” WATCHED WONDER WOMAN WITH MY HOUSEMATES AND IT WAS SO GOOD.

Leave a Reply

