Books

Recap Post: The #AsianLitBingo Reading Challenge!

Earlier this month, I did a post about the #AsianLitBingo challenge hosted by Reading (As)(i)an (Am)erican. I really enjoyed the challenge, so I just wanted to post how I did!

unspecified

BOOKS READ BY ASIAN AUTHORS FOR MAY: 8!!! (Lucky number in many Asian cultures!)

BOOKS BY ASIAN AUTHORS W/ ASIAN MCS (i.e. books qualifying for the challenge): 5

Dear Friend, From My Life I Write to You in Your Life by Yiyun Li (Chinese-American immigrant author, memoir about depression/suicidal ideation)

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (ARC) by Julie C. Dao (Vietnamese-American/Southeast Asian author, Chinese-inspired fantasy/fairy tale retelling, YA)

The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew (Taiwanese-American author w/ Malaysian-born Singaporean illustrator, graphic novel, historical, Chinese immigrant MC, Chinese-American superhero–this was an absolute delight to read!)

The Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner (Cambodian immigrant/refugee author, disabled Southeast Asian MC)

The Goddess Chronicle by Natsuo Kirino (Japanese author, retelling of the myth of Izanami and Izanagi–I’ve been fascinated by this story since childhood, so I really enjoyed this!)

I also read 3 other books this month that were by Asian authors, but which technically don’t count for the challenge, as the first two don’t have Asian protagonists and I just started the third. Nonetheless, I wanted to mention them:

Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang (Taiwanese-American author, SFF, short story collection–holy shit I loved this book)

Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World by Ann Shen (Asian-American illustrator, nonfiction, feminism!)

The Lost Daughter of Happiness by Geling Yan (Chinese-American immigrant author, Chinese-American MC, historical–I just started this and it’s rather unsettling)

Huge thanks to @TheShenners for hosting!

Leave a Reply

