Life Update

Life Update: 4/16 – 4/22

Last week was pretty good–I had a really incredible interview with Lisa Pruitt, a law professor at UC Davis who teaches Feminist Legal Theory and consulted on the first successful prosecution of rape as a war crime, in the Rwanda Genocide. Yesterday was my last Picnic Day at UCD and I met up with old friends and got a new flower crown and things. Also, it was the March for Science, which was incredible!

But I’m still massively stuck on revisions, which has been frustrating. I finally made some progress but now I’m stuck again. I actually think now that I never properly finished plot revisions–I just got tired and declared them done. Well, lessons learned.

SCHOOL RECAP

Read Etheridge Knight’s “Belly Song,” Sylvia Plath’s “The Applicant” and “Poppies in October,” and Allen Ginsberg’s “America” in Contemporary American Poetry. More Modernist poetry–Ezra Pound, H.D., T.S. Eliot, e.e. cummings–in American Lit. Started The House of Fame in Chaucer. Wang Wei and Li Po in Chinese Poetry.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC/TV

For my interview with Professor Pruitt, I went downtown and happened to notice that Get Out was playing, so right after I walked in and bought a ticket! Speaking of pleasant surprises, I had no idea that Sylvan Esso had a new album coming out, so when they streamed it on their website, it was very nice and unexpected! I sadly couldn’t attend the March for Science because I couldn’t pass up my last Picnic Day after skipping last year to study, but I did watch the first four episodes of Bill Nye Saves the World.

Leave a Reply

