Life Update

Life Update: 4/9 – 4/15

This week, my revisions took somewhat of a step back–I was really busy because of extracurricular stuff, mainly prep for Take Back the Night 2017. Like last year, it was a really great event and, also like last year, afterward my volunteer group went out for late-night In-n-Out, which was great and emotional and I got sentimental again, but it left me really tired, so I slacked off on Thursday and Friday too. I’ll have to make up for it this weekend, but I did buy my first drink, donated blood, and there was a cool Indigenous Crafts Fair on campus Friday, so I bought a Guatemalan worry doll. Seemed appropriate for these worrisome times.

Also, I encountered an adorable pair of corgis named Hime and Katsu. KATSU!!

SCHOOL RECAP

William Carlos Williams’ “The Rose” and “To Elsie” and John Barryman’s Dream Songs in Contemporary American Poetry. The Book of the Duchess in Chaucer. The House of Mirth in American Lit. “Southeast the Peacock Flies”, Nineteen Old Poems of the Han, and Tao Yuanming (including the prelude to “The Peach Blossom Spring”) in Chinese Poetry.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC/TV

Read Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell, which I enjoyed more than St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves; I was personally most enchanted by “Reeling for the Empire”, about half-woman, half-silkworm workers in Meiji Japan. No new musical discoveries this week, but I did listen in on my awesome friend from CARE’s radio program and it was a bangin’ hour. I’m on season 3 of Samurai Jack now, and I also started the new Mystery Science Theater 3000 on Netflix, which was a fun time!

Leave a Reply

