Life Update

Life Update: One Last Time…

This week was my last first week of the quarter. It was pretty good–my classes and professors are all eclectic and promising. I haven’t really been hit emotionally yet, but I’m really constantly aware of the fact that I’m graduating.

I’ve mostly spent this first full week of Camp NaNoWriMo brainstorming revisions instead of actually revising, but it’s been productive, I think–I completed a read-through my draft (whew) and revised my timeline and wrote up character profiles, and I actually figure out a LOT in terms of both my plot and characters. And I did start actual writing–I started one of the “insert fight scene here” scenes that I skipped over while drafting. So I’m very excited for that.

I also had my last first Her Campus meeting of the quarter and did volunteering for CARE in preparation for Take Back the Night–cutting ribbons and flyers, tabling with the Love Lab (which promotes safe sex education), and participating in a Paint ‘n’ Positivity “Crafternoon” at the LGBTQIA+ Center to create artwork for the event. And I went to Sacramento for a very nice Korean BBQ dinner with the housemates. I’ve just been thinking about how really grateful I am for these people and for having gotten to know them during my time here.

SCHOOL RECAP

This first week in Love and Desire in American Poetry was mostly introductory matter, referencing Allen Grossman’s “Summa Lyrica” as well as various poems, including “Snow Line” by John Berryman and poems by Emily Dickinson. Puddn’head Wilson in American Literature 1900-1945. “Wordes unto Adam, His Owne Scriveyne”, “Merciless Beauty” and “To Rosamunde”, and medieval literature about dream visions in Chaucer: Troilus and Minor Poems. Selections from The Book of Odes in Chinese Poetry.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC/TV

I’m on Season 2 of Samurai Jack and I’m really enjoying this show–I already feel like I’m going to be emotional when it ends. Read ST. LUCY’S HOME FOR GIRLS RAISED BY WOLVES by Karen Russell. To be honest, I was a little disappointed with this collection–I enjoyed Russell’s novel Swamplandia! and her short story “Bog Girl”, but for the most part I found this collection of stories overly twee in how capital-Q Quirk they were (“crimes comical and ironical”…ugh). I’m willing to give her follow up Vampires in the Lemon Grove a try though. Good music…my most anticipated album was Father John Misty’s Pure Comedy, but I also had a chill Discover Weekly playlist on Spotify and listened to Future Islands’ new album. I also discovered that Tank and the Bangas already have an album and listened to that, and it was great!

Leave a Reply

