Life Update

Life Update: 3/26 – 4/2

Last week was my spring break, and it was a pretty good break! I was planning to write a lot, but I ended up mostly spending time with the parents, eating out a LOT (poke! Korean BBQ! Shawarma! Olive Garden cuz my parents had a gift card! CHINESE FOOD. SoCal is great, y’all), watching movies, reading books, and applying to postgrad plans–I wouldn’t consider that time wasted. And I did eventually get some writing done, enough not to consider this week a total bust there. At the last minute, I joined Camp NaNoWriMo with a goal of 30 hours in April. This will be a good way to jump start my next revision round!

Also, I got all the grades I needed for my penultimate term and an A on my thesis! All in all, not a bad way to recharge before my final quarter.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC 

I read 3 books, watched 6 movies, and started my rewatch of SAMURAI JACK! Books were all strong kidlit–Jeff Zentner’s very good sophomore novel GOODBYE DAYS and two magical (and #ownvoices) middle grade debuts, THE GAUNTLET by Karuna Riazi and THE CRYSTAL RIBBON by Celeste Lim. Solid movie choices as well–my favorite was TRAIN TO BUSAN, but I also finally watched the very good movie adaptation of GONE GIRL and went to see BEAUTY AND THE BEAST and POWER RANGERS. I also watched the 1950 FATHER OF THE BRIDE with my parents and really enjoyed that!

I listened to The Courtneys and Alex Izenberg this week, but my favorite music was Glass Animals’ Spotify Live recordings.

Leave a Reply

