Life Update

Life Update: 2/26 – 3/4/17

This week was relatively chill–I turned in the first draft of my Ethnobotany group project paper, but otherwise I had a lot of free time, including to revise! That was really awesome. I also got feedback on my Children’s Lit professor for my thesis, which was also exciting, and I got to attend the Women’s Resources and Research Center’s annual production of Our Stories, a Vagina Monologues-inspired monologue show. I loved last year’s show and this year’s was a doozy–it was really heavy, even more heartbreaking than last year’s which had a few more lighthearted pieces, but at the end it was incredibly cathartic. Last year the show ended by leading everyone in a chant of “Vagina! Vagina! Vagina!”; this year, both because of inclusivity issues at the Women’s March and other feminist activism and because of, well, everything else this year, the production ended with a raucous chant of “No Trump! No KKK! No Fascist USA!”

SCHOOL RECAP

Eclectic series of guest lectures for Ethnobotany, from such diverse people as a plant expert and cultural educator with ancestry from several California tribes, a researcher of medicinal plant usage among the Maroon communities of Jamaica, and a chemist at a pharmaceutical company that makes herbal drugs derived from traditional Chinese medicine. Started lizards in Herpetology, including iguanas and chameleons! Microbial communities, interactions, and biogeochemical cycles in Microbiology.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC 

Great stuff this week. I read three fine YA books, WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones, THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR by Nicola Yoon, and the much-hyped THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas, which was a tour de force. Seriously, read it.

I also watched SICARIO, which wasn’t my favorite of Dennis Villaneuva’s work (I completely agree with Jeff Zentner’s criticism that Emily Blunt’s character had very little narrative agency), but it was still a powerful film. I also listened to a great debut album, Landmark by Hippo Campus, and of course Lorde had her comeback single!

Leave a Reply

