Life Update

Life Update: 2/5 – 2/11/17

I’m studying for Herpetology and Ethnobotany midterms next week, so this’ll be another quickie.

♥ MIC midterm came back and it was lower than I would’ve liked–got a B-.

♥ I also registered for my last quarter of undergraduate classes.

♥ I did get to spend a lot of time with Her Campus staff: we had a pizza fundraiser, tabling, and a fun Galentine’s Day hangout wherein we played What Do You Meme?, Naked, and Headbands.

♥ Got some really lovely and thoughtful critiques back from my novel mentor!

It’s kind of hard to believe I’ll be graduating soon.

SCHOOL UPDATE

Quantitative analysis, plant domestication, and origin of crop plants in Ethnobotany. Finished frogs in Herpetology. Building the cell envelope and coordinating cell processes in Microbiology.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP

This week, I finished KINDER THAN SOLITUDE by Yiyun Li–I read her short stories before I even came to UC Davis, but this is the first novel of hers I’ve read, and I’m just in awe that this brilliant writer is actually consulting my thesis. I also read NORTHANGER ABBEY, which means I’ve officially read all of Jane Austen’s books!

Listened to Smokey Robinson & The Miracles and new albums by Sinkane, Tinariwen, and Jesca Hoop. Also listened more closely to Have One On Me by Joanna Newsom, which I’d been meaning to for a long time; it was very rewarding.

Leave a Reply

