Life Update

Lunar Life Update: 1/23 – 1/28/17

This is going to be another quick recap, because my first midterm is on Tuesday and it’s for my hardest class (Microbiology). But I wanted to wish everyone a Happy Lunar New Year/Spring Festival/Year of the Rooster!

tumblr_okhw1viote1tls8fbo1_400
By @hammerings on Tumblr

My wonderful friend Val from elementary school invited me to a vegan Lunar New Year dinner for New Year’s Eve, and this week I also found out that a short story I wrote was runner up in the department creative writing contest!! But otherwise…

This was a very troubling week, and it’s only the beginning. Today was a relief, even uplifting in many ways–even though I only lived in New York for about a year, I felt an urge to reclaim it proudly as my birthplace. But dark times are ahead, and we’re going to have to keep fighting.

Gong xi fa cai.

SCHOOL RECAP

Methodology, ethics, and an herbarium tour in Ethnobotany; also turned in group and individual project proposals. Amniote evolution, intro to amphibians, and salamanders in Herpetology. Synthesis of building blocks and DNA replication in Microbiology (bleh bleh).

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC UPDATE

Read The Monkey’s Voyage (science!) and The Princess Diarist (RESISTANCE). Listened to a lot of albums – Heaven or Las Vegas, Alexis Taylor’s Piano album (the Hot Chip frontman can really sing! Who knew?), Inside In/Inside OutNomad by Bombino, and Sweet Sexy Savage by Kehlani. Also, The Handmaiden finally came to Amazon and I rented it; I’m going to watch it as soon as I’m done with this midterm!

 

Leave a Reply

