Life Update

Life Update: 1/15 – 1/22/17

This week, I wished my beloved grandmother a happy birthday, had a nightlong power outage (which did help me get a lot of writing done, ha), helped decorate the CARE office for National Stalking Awareness Month, bought Scrivener for 40% off, finished A Series of Unfortunate Events on Netflix, and had the immense honor of editing a very brave and brilliant colleague’s article about the Milo protest.

And I traveled to Sacramento to participate in the sister Women’s March.

This post is very late because I’ve been in a bit of a funk. I told myself I’d get a lot of writing done on Friday as a fuck you to all the people who have loudly stated they don’t want the voices of women of color to be heard, but I haven’t done anything this weekend so I want to get to that. But I was very proud this weekend of everyone standing up for justice and equality, and I hope to see you all at the midterms.

c2ottmsveaa1b6b

SCHOOL RECAP

Plant morphology and identification of some important families in Ethnobotany. Guest lecture on amphibian conservation in Herpetology. Cell growth and metabolism in Microbiology (blech).

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC UPDATE 

Finally had some new music this week: Ten Hymns from My American GothicLe Monde Fabuleux Des Yamasaki, The Handmaiden OST, Harry Nilsson. Read Genes, Peoples, and Languages by Luigi Luca Cavalli-Sforza. Finally watched SELMA for MLK Day, because like painfully literal, as well as DOGTOOTH and GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY!  Incidentally, I saw a WE ARE GROOT sign in Sac (as well as tons of Carrie Fisher/Resistance/Leia posters, which made me very happy).

Leave a Reply

