Life Update

Life Update: Good Riddance 2016

It’s been a good week–a whole week of tabletop games and #bonding with cousins before the British one leaves, a trip to The Last Bookstore in downtown L.A., my first glass of New Year’s Eve champagne–but a notoriously terrible year. Yes, yes, the jokes about 2016 were getting trite. But it’s been hard.

It’s (more or less) a year since I started this blog. I started LOVE, CAUTION because, as I formally left my teen years and approached my 20th birthday, I felt like I was entering adulthood in a better place than I had ever been. I was ambitious, and hopeful, and optimistic for the future.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel (selfishly, narcissistically, I know) like that young woman with so much newfound trust and love was the victim of some sick, cosmic joke. I ended 2015 marveling at how much I’d grown, but I’ve grown so much more since then, and I still can’t say I like why.

But in spite of everything, I’m determined not to become jaded, to become apathetic. Oh, it’s been tempting. But as so many of my fellow women and people of color have said, there’s no going back. My heart does pang for that young woman who started this blog, but honestly I don’t regret that wondrous period in my life when I really believed that the future was beautiful. It was necessary and I’m stronger for it, oddly enough. But I know now that we’re going to have to fight with everything we can if we want to ever achieve justice and equality and anything else worth fighting for. Because we don’t have a choice.

So with love, and caution, and anger, and determination, and in the words of a fallen general, hope, here’s to 2017.

FINAL BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP

Not much music to note, but I actually managed to get a lot of reading and watching done in the final week of 2016! I read a LOT of books because we spent a lot of time in The Last Bookstore, so I read a lot of small picture and novelty books–Edward Gorey, H.P. Lovecraft’s The Cats of Ulthar illustrated by Abigail Larsen, HitRecord’s Tiny Book of Tiny Stories Vol. 2, Traveling With Your Octopus, and The Little Prince–which helped me bring my total reading list for 2016 to 102 books! The other books that rounded the year out were THE JAPANESE LOVER by Isabel Allende (which was pretty bland and disappointing, honestly), SHADOWSHAPER by Daniel Jose Older (my favorite for the week!), and EXIT, PURSUED BY A BEAR by E.K. Johnston.

Ended 2016 with 88 movies–not bad! Watched some good stuff this week: MANCHESTER BY THE SEA, ONLY LOVERS LEFT ALIVE, HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE, and THE BALLAD OF NARAYAMA.

Leave a Reply

