Treasure Box

Treasure Box: November 2016

 

Briefly coming out of my blogging hiatus for my November Treasure Box! If nothing else, I can be thankful for the fact that WordPress is finally working again. Breaking out the club bullet points for this one cuz it looks like a turkey to me.

1920px-lakota_parflech_displayed_at_the_national_museum_of_the_american_indian2c_washington2c_d-c1
Lakota parfleche

♣ So November was NOIRVEMBER on TCM, which put me in a femme fatale mood. Here’s a fun listicle of (perhaps unintentionally) empowering moments from Old Hollywood actresses.

going-to-do-what-i-please-vintage-badass-gilda

♣ I first read the story of Barbara Newhall Follett, a child prodigy writer who then disappeared, as one of the readings for my SAT prep class (yes, I did that), and I never quite forgot it.

♣ I love pastry art and thought Chinese sugar painting was really neat, so here’s something else fun: Japanese amezaiku animal lollipops!

edible-7

♣ Speaking of Japan, I learned this month from a Japanese exchange student at the roommate’s church group that in addition to cat and hedgehog cafes, Japan also has rabbit, owl, and freaking reptile cafes, because of course they do.

♣ Speaking of Japan yet again, because of course, the videos of Shuzo Matsuoka are actually really energizing.

♣ This last month, of course, was defined in many ways by November 8, and there’s no real way to separate it from that. From Publishing Crawl: “Reading and Writing are Political Acts.”

♣ “Fascism” is apparently shaping up to be Merriam-Webster’s word of the year (to its chagrin), so here’s a primer on superheroes and fascism. I think it could be more in-depth but it’s a fascinating topic that I’ve been thinking about since I’ve watched so many superhero cartoons this month and in regards to my own WIP.

♣ Speaking of Merriam-Webster, their Twitter account is bizarrely awesome.

♣ Here’s something more uplifting: a profile on Hannah Beachler, the production design genius behind Lemonade and Moonlight.

♣ And as we did get some good news for human rights, Taiwan becoming the first country in Asia to legalize same-sex marriage, here’s a great piece about the Chinese Communist Party’s attempt to bring back the term ‘comrade’ foiled by gay men co-opting it.

♣ And speaking of China!

♣ Thanksgiving is a holiday with less-than-jubilant origins (if you haven’t seen the surprisingly amazing Teen Vogue’s video about it, check it). But I do rec this very inspirational and relevant story about Thanksgiving, which involves George Takei.

♣ So this month had a lot of seriousness going on. My official Very Serious Entry was going to be about the Standing Rock protests as well as the fact that Native American women face the highest rates of sexual violence in the country. These are issues that I admit I was ignorant on in many ways and it’s disturbing how we never really redeemed that history of colonization and I urge you to donate if you can.

But since this was a very serious month, here’s a ‘bonus entry’. I know there’s a lot going on right now, and that you’re probably justly concerned with a lot, but while we’re talking about persecution of minority groups and Muslim refugees and undocumented immigrants, please keep an eye on the plight of the Rohingya people in Myanmar right now. The UN is now describing the situation as ‘ethnic cleansing‘–and Aung San Suu Kyi, Nobel Peace Prize Winner and revered humanitarian, is letting it happen.

Gonna dive back into papers. See you next month. Please be good to each other, and never give up. You are the sun.

Leave a Reply

