Life Update

Life Update: 11/7 – 11/13

So.

That was one of the most horrific weeks of my life.

This was my first Election Day, and even though I had already sent in my mail-in ballot, I wore suffragette white and my first ever I VOTED sticker proudly on November 8 only to see the election of a racist, sexist, Islamophobic, dishonest, corrupt, bafflingly petty, willfully ignorant demagogue and sexual predator. I never thought I would be the kind of person who would feel really, really strongly about politics, but I was appalled and sickened by Trump’s victory. I did absolutely nothing productive for two days and shouted in solidarity with the protesters as they passed by on campus, but I’m very privileged: while I am a women of color, I live in a very liberal state. I have much less to be afraid of than Latinos, Muslims, and LGBT people, and it’s them that I’m really terrified for.

I’m not going to keep going on about this, but I’m not going to forget it. Midterms are in two years, and we have a long fight ahead.

SCHOOL RECAP, FOR WHATEVER IT’S WORTH

Read Othello in Shakespeare, Karl Marx and Frederick Engels in Literary Theory, and Phyllis Wheatley in Women’s Writing, which didn’t exactly help take my mind off the political climate. Plate tectonics and cladistics/phylogeny in Biogeography, which was nice.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC/NETFLIX UPDATE

When I said I did absolutely nothing productive for two days that includes entertainment. I had to restart the book I was reading because I realized I read most of it in a daze, and I’m behind on Young Justice, but I did finish Season 1 and start Season 2. I also watched the pilot of Mad Men, which was very good; I’d like to keep watching when I’m done with YJ, though I’m a little disturbed by the feeling that I might be watching the future and not the past.

I did listen to some cool albums. The new Jamie T album is finally on Spotify, and I also listened to Bert Jansch, Hop Along, and Kero Kero Bonito’s full-length release.

Before Judgment Day happened, I watched THE NEON DEMON and PAINTED SKIN: THE RESURRECTION, which actually made for a pretty interesting double feature.

One thought on “Life Update: 11/7 – 11/13

  1. the American elections made me realize that, whatever happens in one country affect all the world, this made me conclude that after all the world is one big family. My south African pain is equals to my American sisters pain and verse versa.

    Like

Leave a Reply

