Life Update

Life Update: 10/24 – 10/30

So this week, I got my first papers (Shakespeare and Women’s Writing) back! I did really well on them, which is a relief because I can relax a bit on studying for those midterms and focus my attentions more on my Biogeography exam. We get a pretty thorough study guide, so I intend to spend most of my time working on that.

But it hasn’t been all midterms and LSAT prep. Jason Porath’s Rejected Princesses book arrived and I am thoroughly enjoying it. I also gave the English department book club’s creative writing workshop a try and went in costume with my housemates to the roommate’s church’s Halloween party, which was a small affair but we got to play Ticket to Ride! I guess it’s appropriate that this week was a good one for female friendships and stuffs–I had a lot of great conversations with my housemates, and I had my first directors’ meeting for Her Campus, which was honestly very lovely.

banner
Look at this gloriousness. Look at it.

SCHOOL RECAP

Good stuff this week all around:

♦ Literary Theory: William Wordsworth’s preface to Lyrical Ballads and Mary Wollstonecraft’s “Vindication of the Rights of Women”

♦ Biogeography: continued with dispersal and migration, which was much more fascinating to me than range dynamics

 Women’s Writing: Eliza Haywood’s fascinating Fantomina, or Love in a Maze and a nicely eclectic selection of 18th-century women’s poetry

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC/NETFLIX RECAP

This week I listened to the discography of Thao & the Get Down Stay Down and The The, two bizarrely named artists from whom I had loved an album but never got around to listening to the rest of their stuff, for some reason. (That sentence probably should be trimmed like a topiary animal, but WordPress has had trouble saving so I’ll power through it.) I actually really like We the Common and Mind Bomb is often overwrought but good.

Since we ended up renewing our Netflix subscription, I’ve been working my way through Young Justice. I’m not as hooked as by Justice League, but it’s a quality show (with the glaring exception of its Joker, who is horrendous).

Leave a Reply

