Life Update

Life Update: 8/22 – 8/28

Alright, so this week was a total wash as far as actual writing progress, but I don’t think it’s been a waste:

♦ I am now Senior Editor of Her Campus at UC Davis!

♦ McIntosh & Otis offered to renew my internship a second time!

♦ I made a LinkedIn account, started looking into grad schools, and adjusted schedules

♦ And as far was writing went, I signed up for Tomi Adeyemi‘s free email writing course and it was really helpful! Her website has a lot of great resources, including a Facebook writing group, and she is also so sweet. Also, I’d been following the fabulous Ashley Hearn (whose agent is my boss!) on Twitter during PitchWars, so imagine my delight when I saw this:

All in all, it’s been a productive and probably ultimately beneficial simmering period.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC

Read Carrie Brownstein’s memoir HUNGER MAKES ME A MODERN GIRL for Hermione’s Feminist Book Club. I also watched the documentary JESUS CAMP; BRICK, a high school neo-noir starring indie Joseph Gordon-Levitt and the directorial debut of Rian Johnson (LooperStar Wars Episode VIII); and the very good and frighteningly relevant CHILDREN OF MEN, which I am very glad I did not watch when Trump’s poll numbers were tied with Hillary’s.

But the absolute best piece of media I’ve enjoyed this week was Glass Animals’ sophomore album, HOW TO BE A HUMAN BEING. It is nothing short of sensational. The brother jokes a lot about how bad music writers use hyperbole as a crutch, but this deserves it. It is a masterpiece. It is sonically diverse, inventive, catchy as hell but also funny, moving, deeply empathetic, and yes, heartbreaking. Listen to it. Seriously, right now.

Leave a Reply

