Uncategorized

My China/Taiwan Trip in Pictures

So I am back from my homeland!!! Here’s a quick breakdown:

-2 days in Taiwan

  • visited several temples to the goddesses Guan Yin (whose jade pendant I wear) and Mazu (whom I learned my grandmother prayed to when I was born!)
  • got a fortune (about my writing!!)
  • visited the beautiful Yehliu Geonational Park, where I saw some incredible rock formations by the sea (and had tiramisu milk tea!)
  • attended a Night Market!
  • the National Palace Museum! Unfortunately, the most famous artifact–the Jade Cabbage–is on tour, but it’s a great museum.
  • had the best beef noodle soup in Taipei (of 2015)! Yep, won a contest and everything.
  • the Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial Hall

-7 days in southern China! We came for Fuijian Province, where my ancestors were from, so no, we didn’t see the major tourist/cultural sites like Beijing, Shanghai, etc. But that’s for another trip! And we did have a really excellent tour guide (even if he didn’t speak English, which meant I didn’t totally understand his anecdotes…but hey, learning experience) and I got to meet my mom’s extended family. There, we:

  • learned about the Hakka subgroup of the Han, visiting a cultural museum and real tulou farmhouses
  • took a (rainy but still spectacular) scenic boat ride through the mountains
  • saw a local Fuijian dance/acrobatics show with a spinning stage–the highlights were a kraken performer with a jet pack/hose stilts and a jump roper on a Wheel of Death!
  • also at Fuijian Province, we got paper fans with our family’s names on them!
  • tea tasting/knives/silk/jewelry/traditional medicine shops in Xiamen!
  • gorgeous ferry ride (on jade-colored waters) to an English-style seaside town
  • KARAOKE CRUISE!!!
  • and finally, went to a very unique museum–at the top of a high tower on a mountain, with all the artifacts beneath the glass floor under our feet!

Miscellaneous pictures!

image

 

image.jpeg

 

IMG_0811.JPG

IMG_0839.JPG

IMG_0865.JPG

 

IMG_0877

cns5obpusaahyku

 

IMG_0927
This little dog followed us all the way back to the tour bus! 

IMG_0945.JPG

IMG_0949.JPG

 

IMG_0950

IMG_0970.JPG
And look, there’s my name again!

 

IMG_0912.JPG
(This was in our hotel room in Xiamen!) 

IMG_0988.JPG

Leave a Reply

