Life Update

Life Update: 7/4 – 7/13

I’M BACK FROM CHINA!!! It was all very exciting, and a photo recap will soon follow. But first, very late and quick update!

image

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP:

Thanks to 12-hour international flights, I actually did read/watch quite a lot!

Finished my second “book club” book, my roommate’s pick: ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony Doerr, on the 12-hour flight to Taiwan, as well as my backup book, THE WEIGHT OF FEATHERS by Anna-Marie McLemore.

Watched 4 movies thanks to the very nice international flight selection and lots of time aboard planes: two Chinese-language movies I’d really been hoping to see, Stephen Chow’s THE MERMAID and IP MAN 3, and two family films, ZOOTOPIA and CINDERELLA.

I had substantially fewer musical discoveries, but I was surprisingly able to access Spotify in China, and was able to finish my Discover Weekly playlist during downtime at the hotel(s). Added quite a few songs to my Spotify Purgatory playlist: Richard Hawley, Oh Pep!, Field Music, Talking Heads, Cloud Nothings, Destroyer, Rostam, The I Don’t Cares.

Due to the unexpected Internet access (because I was in the more remote part of China?? I honestly don’t know why), I was able to catch some glimpses of the home front and know in advance that I’d be returning to a country ravaged by Pokemon Go. No, I haven’t been able to download it, but I did play this on the airplane.

photo-1-8

Leave a Reply

