Uncategorized

Life Update: 6/13 – 6/19

Happy Father’s Day to all deserving fathers! I got my father a graphic novel anthology of H.P. Lovecraft stories, but I accidentally shipped it to my college address. Whoops.

This week, I’ve been seriously rethinking my WIP. After my mentor became the fourth person out of four people to tell me the original conceptualization for my protagonist/narrator had some major flaws, I agreed to rethink him. That’s…been a struggle. On the plus side, thanks to the awesome Kate Brauning’s diverse books giveaway (I purchased Anna-Marie McLemore’s THE WEIGHT OF FEATHERS and am very excited to start!), I have won first-pages critiques from two different editors! Woohoo!

Other than that, I spent a lot of time with family, dined out a lot, got my final grades back (pretty good), and had an eye appointment, meningitis shot, and dentist appointment.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP:

The (former!) roommate and I have started a book club! Well, it’s two people, but still. Between that and my ongoing membership in Hermione Granger’s Feminist Book Club, I enjoyed Han Kang’s THE VEGETARIAN and Marjane Satrapi’s graphic novel, PERSEPOLIS.

Watched some very cool, eclectic movies: LEVIATHAN, MAGGIE’S PLAN, THE LOBSTER, STARRED UP, THE KINGS OF SUMMER. Also watched FINDING DORY, which I was skeptical about but actually really enjoyed!

Listened to a lot of Joanna Newsom and St. Vincent. I’m really digging her first album, Marry Me, and her Rolling Stones cover of “Emotional Rescue”.

 

Leave a Reply

