Treasure Box

Treasure Box: May 2016

Welcome to May’s Treasure Box! This is my monthly installment in which I round up some of my favorite online goodies:

a4588f47850978431a54f189be5d935c
Sarah’s music box in Labyrinth

♦ This all-male rendition of “Cell Block Tango” from Broadway Backwards, an annual charity show that donates proceeds to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS and The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center.

♦ I actually really hate that the 90s are coming back, but I’ll make an exception for chokers.

♦ The Rockford Peaches reunited for A League of Their Own reunion game!

♦ FATHER JOHN MISTY’S INSTAGRAM IS A WORK OF ART.

♦ LOVE THIS WHOLE POST for Cake Wrecks’ Sunday Sweets on a new trend: gems!

10710906-27025379-thumbnail

♦ This amuses me so much: the ancient Romans filled the Colosseum with water to stage naval battles!

♦ Look at this amazing Instagram account! She’s a 17-year-old Belgian girl, Annelise van Overbeek, who does the most incredible looks inspired by vintage/period film icons. She’s done Scarlett O’Hara, Audrey Hepburn, Amelie Poulain, and even Anne Frank (which I rather like, as I imagine Anne would’ve been thrilled). She’s also a talented artist and is expecting to launch a YouTube channel soon, which I’m excited to see!

♦ This amusing map of the most common Google question in each state relative to other states. I’m generally a California apologist but if you asked a hack comedian what our top search would be, the real answer somehow outdoes that in stereotypical-ity.

♦ The website for the movie The Lobster (which I’m excited to see) has this amazing quiz. I decided to be an owl! I’m actually pretty impressed with these choices, given the seemingly random nature of the questions.

13313523_616420671848071_404847024_o

♦ And finally Peacock spiders! They’re actually quite cute–no, really.

♦ Lastly, for my more serious issue: you’ve probably heard about this, but seriously, read read read Ronan Farrow’s article on Woody Allen, his sister Dylan, and media complicity in allowing powerful men to get away with abuse.

That’s all for May! This’ll probably be my last post (except for my Life Update) until I’m done with finals, and possibly even beyond that since I’ll be on vacation.

Love, Caution,

Aimee

Leave a Reply

