Life Update

Life Update: 4/25 – 5/1

So Crunch Time: Part 1 officially ended with my Chinese History midterm on Friday. I also turned in my story for workshop. A Tyranny of Petticoats, Outrun the Moon, etc. inspired me to try my first historical fiction piece: “The Suffragette and the Swan”, a loose retelling of Hans Christian Anderson’s “The Wild Swans” with a deaf suffragette as the protagonist. I’m actually really nervous about workshop because this is so different from anything I’ve ever done, and I’m not too happy with that. Sigh.

Food this week was pretty tight, though. Poke + organic gardenia/ lavender ice cream! Also, I won my second ARC on Twitter: AMERICAN WITCHES by Susan Fair!

chuucqvukaa24vq

SCHOOL UPDATE: 

Quantitative and population genetics in Genetics. Finished Mrs. Dalloway and “On the Quai at Smyrna” in English Lit. Ming Dynasty in Chinese History. Tenth of December by George Saunders in Workshop.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC UPDATE:

Read HOW TO BE A WOMAN by Caitlin Moran for Hermione Granger’s Feminist Book Club! Music was the highlight of my week, though (after food). My brother pointed me to three incredible African musicians, Bombino, Tinariwen, and Ali Farka Toure. I also listened to Kate Bush’s The Sensual World, Matthew E. White’s Fresh Blood, and Jon Fratelli’s solo album, Psycho Jukebox, which is, well,  significantly less acclaimed, but I have to give a good word for “Santo Domingo” and “Baby, We’re Refugees”.

WRITING PROGRESS:

Even though Crunch Time has ended, I’ve decided to actually sit on my WIP for a while and decide what my next step/timeline will be. In the meantime, I’ve been writing some poems. Feminist poems. Very Riot Grrrl.

Leave a Reply

