Life Update

Life Update: 4/18 – 4/24

After that grueling last weekend that was Crunch Time, this last week was…also pretty busy. But it was actually quite good!

First, I got a 93 on my much-fretted about Genetics midterm!! I also turned in my first Chinese History paper, took the Upper Division Composition Exam, and am hard at work on my story for workshop (all those Badass History books have inspired me to try my hand at historical fiction for the first time. It’s been a learning experience!)

School wasn’t the only thing keeping me busy. Thursday was Take Back the Night, the big volunteer event against campus sexual violence, and honestly, it was kind of an incredible night. In somewhat related news, I was stunned to receive a Community Service Award and an invitation to a gala honoring my favorite professor!

I’m not gonna lie: I was pretty stressed last weekend. I still have quite a bit of work this week–got one last midterm for this round of exams on Friday, as well as my workshop story–but hey, I got this.

SCHOOL RECAP: 

After the first midterm, we moved on to bacterial and viral genetics. Song and Yuan Dynasties in Chinese history. Started our first novel, Mrs. Dalloway, in Intro to Modern Lit. And last Wednesday was our first round of workshop stories in Advanced Fiction!

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP: 

Though this week was pretty busy, I got a lot of good entertainment! Finished ANANSI BOYS by Neil Gaiman, which wasn’t as great as American Gods but was still very good (though the romance stemming from deity-rape was questionable). Watched Spike Lee’s musical satire of Chicago gang violence, CHI-RAQ, which I liked a lot. Listened to Karen O, Cat Power, Aristophanes, and finally 25 by Adele.

WRITING PROGRESS: 

See, now that’s the sticking point, isn’t it. I WILL FINISH RECALIBRATIONS/GET STARTED ON REVISIONS THIS WEEK, THOUGH.

Leave a Reply

