Uncategorized

#BadassHistory Books + Swag Haul!

So back in March (otherwise known as Women’s History Month!), four historical YA authors, Sharon Biggs Waller (The Forbidden Orchid), Meg Medina (Burn Baby Burn), Jessica Spotswood (A Tyranny of Petticoats), and Cat Winters (The Steep and Thorny Way) did a #BadassHistory Google Hangout, with book packs + swag available for the best Twitter question. Yours truly won, which made me SO HAPPY (I’m kind of a women’s history geek, and my winning question was “Favorite lesser-known badass women in history who needs more love?”)!!!

The last of the books/swag came today, and you can bet your sass that I will be posting reviews for all these awesome books! You can see my review for A Tyranny of Petticoats–which Jessica Spotswood very kindly complimented on Twitter, to my heart’s delight–here!) In the meantime, I wanted to share some pictures of the books and swag, because they truly made me giddy.

IMG_0603

These all came during finals week last quarter. What a morale boost! The Forbidden Orchid is set in Victorian England and China and involves plant hunting. Hence, tea! (The tag with the adorable ship charm has brewing instructions!) I also want to note the chocolate coin straight out of my childhood memories of Chinese New Year!

IMG_0608

Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina is set in the infamous summer of 1977 in New York City–hence, THE DISCO BALL. SERIOUSLY, HOW COOL IS THAT?

IMG_0657

THAT PRINT. I’d been crossing my fingers that this thing of beauty would be part of my swag ever since I first saw it. I think it’s even more adorable (and empowering) in person!

IMG_0648

The Steep and Thorny Way arrived today, and considering it’s Equal Pay Day, it was quite the intersectional feminist pick-me-up.

I really want to thank Cat Winters, and all the authors, not only for the very cool books and swag, but also for personally taking the time to write very sweet handwritten notes of encouragement. As for the rest of you–live! Love! Thrive! Be badass!

IMG_0655

~Aimee

Leave a Reply

