Life Update

Life Update: 4/4 – 4/10

Counting down till crunch time. (Paper due next Friday! First midterm the Monday after that!!) Well, in the meantime, I made plans for empowering poems over coffee, got internship credit for spring quarter, finally made some progress on that summer workshop application, and ROGUE ONE. That…about sums it up, actually.

SCHOOL RECAP: 

Good stuff this week:

♦ Discussed form in Intro to Modern Lit, studying Jen Bervin’s “Nets”, William Butler Yeats’ “Leda and the Swan”, Gloria Anzaldua’s “We Call Them Greasers”, e.e. cummings’ “[l(a]”, Ezra Pound’s “In a Station of the Metro”, Gertrude Stein’s “If I Told Him (A Complete Portrait of Picasso)”, and Gwendolen Brooks’ “A Bronzeville Mother Loiters in Missippi. Meanwhile, a Mississippi Mother Burns Bacon” and “The Last Quatrain of the Ballad of Emmett Till”.

♦ More Genetics fun, namely in regards to phenotypes and chromosomes: inbreeding, heterozygotes, multiple alleles, lethal alleles, pleiotropy, sex determination, and X-linked inheritance. All that good stuff!

♦ Covered classical Chinese antiquity: the Han, Qin, and Northern and Southern Dynasties.

♦ Advanced Fiction started off with reading our take-home assignments (writing from a tense and POV we’re not comfortable with: that left me with 2nd person future tense, with a 3-page exercise based on this). We also discussed Claire Vaye Watkins’ BATTLEBORN, a collection of short stories rooted in the brutality of their Nevada setting.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP:

Read three books this week! First, I read two more of my Badass History books! THE FORBIDDEN ORCHID by Sharon Biggs Waller and BURN BABY BURN by Meg Medina were both enjoyable. I will post reviews of both shortly! I also read Thomas James’ poetry collection, Letters to a Stranger, and the April issue of Poetry magazine, a special issue themed around social justice. My favorites were Ocean Vuong’s “Toy Boat (For Tamir Rice” and Regie Cabico’s “Daylight Saving Time Flies Like an Instagram of a Weasel Riding a Woodpecker & You Feel Everything Will Be Alright.”

No movies, though I did watch “Heart of Ice” on Batman: The Animated Series and the pilot of Veronica Mars! This week I was in a listening rut, though I do like Nat King Cole’s “It’s Only a Paper Moon.” Here’s a picture of Natalie Prass and a koala.

WRITING PROGRESS: 

I’ve outlined, I’ve gotten feedback on my outline, I’ve plotted out the emotional and, well, plot trajectories of my WIP and…I think I’m going to start editing soon. Wow.

Well, assuming that crunch time doesn’t kill me first.

Hello to my new readers! Don’t worry, these weekly updates should be the only time I talk about those heterozygotes and the Northern and Southern Dynasties (unless that’s your thing?) Don’t hesitate to say hi in the comments 🙂

Love, Caution,

Aimee

Leave a Reply

