Life Update

Spring Break: Life Update 3/21 – 3/27

I’m back in NorCal, enjoying the <24 hours left of my break before it’s back to the academic grind tomorrow. I mostly spent time with family and worked on a larger-than-usual reading assignment for my internship, but honestly I thought I made pretty good use of my time:

♦ Watched MANY, MANY movies. 7, in fact, or one a day. Considering I only watched 7 movies in the 3 months I was at college this year, that was pretty good.

♦ Got a palm reading. Apparently I have an auspicious diamond at the end of my head line, hence, the new bullet symbol!

♦ Food. Burmese, Chinese, sushi, Korean BBQ…gah, I love living in a super-Asian town.

♦ Got straight A’s last quarter!!!

Okay, that’s not terribly exciting. But again, I spent time with family, spent time with friends, faced off with enemies, unearthed shocking secrets, soaked up that sunny SoCal weather, etc. etc. All that good stuff.

Oh, and happy Easter to all celebrating!

d0f6592b7408622a35d7bbe6d96a6575

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP:

Sadly didn’t have time to read, unless you count STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS:  INCREDIBLE CROSS-SECTIONS, which was a Christmas gift. As for movies…

I watched: 10 CLOVERFIELD LANE, THE BIG SHORT, MACBETH starring Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard, DIARY OF A TEENAGE GIRL, TAKE SHELTER, PAN’S LABYRINTH (my fave!!), and BATMAN VS. SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE. I also watched BATMAN: UNDER THE RED HOOD and re-watched the wonderful HER. Lots of good-to-great stuff. I still have misgivings about BvS, but Gal Gadot was great.

And music was good too! I listened to the fantastic Diary of a Teenage Girl soundtrack, The Stone Roses’ perfect debut album and strong follow-up, The Smiths’ Strangeways, Here We Come. I also had some very nice standout tracks in the form of “One” by Moving Panoramas and the fantastic “Your Cover’s Blown” by Belle and Sebastian.

I was planning to fully outline Draft 3 of my WIP, but I should’ve known better. My college planner has a “Monthly Reflection” that includes the question, “What were the three biggest lessons you learned in this past month?” My January answer, after winter break:

  1. Family will get in the way of your work plans
  2. That’s the best kind of interference with work plans
  3. Be prepared to make adjustments to spent time with people.

 

Leave a Reply

