Life Update

Life Update: 3/7 – 3/13

Winter Quarter 2016 has come to an end. I have one final class for Intro to Lit on Monday (Walt Whitman!), but then that’s it before finals. I’ve turned in my final papers for Children’s Lit (on A Little Princess’s Sara Crewe as a heathen), as well as my final poetry packet for workshop and an evaluation of the three internships I’ve taken this quarter. My my last paper for Intro to Lit (comparing Thomas Gray’s “Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard” with John Keats’ “This Living Hand”) is due tomorrow. My last Her Campus article of winter quarter–Part 2 of the hardest article I’ve ever written, on what I had to learn to find happiness–will also be turned in shortly. Tomorrow will also be my final day interning at Emerson Junior High.

There were a lot of small endings this week, and they were all some kind of wonderful. Children’s Lit, Victorian Lit, and my Poetry Workshop all killed it with final days of instruction. My Children’s Lit professor read us OH, THE PLACES YOU’LL GO (!!!) and somehow topped that with a closing slideshow of inspirational morals from all our texts. Victorian Lit prof brought us cookies, and good ones–several different varieties of Pepperidge Farm, including Dulce De Leche Milanos (!!!!)–before wrapping things up with a no-frills but delightful lecture on one of my favorite plays ever, The Importance of Being Earnest. I was smiling throughout the damned PowerPoint even before she showed us pictures of the New Woman and all us resident feminists hijacked the convo for the second time (and she was all for it!) Poetry professor brought us cookies, but also strawberries, and gave an incredible speech about how poetry is utterly useless to culture, irrelevant in the modern world, and completely useless for the rest of our lives, and she hopes that it will be the one thing that can truly give us beauty. Another chapter closed for Her Campus, too, with our end-of-quarter party doubling as a send-off to one of our wonderful Campus Correspondents. I got awards and stuff, but honestly, all I can really say about is it that I’ve lately been overwhelmed with much I genuinely love these people. It’s kind of stunned me, quite honestly.

Wow, I got sentimental there. Seriously, it’s been a good week. McIntosh & Otis have settled into their shiny new digs, so I’m back to reading reports after a few weeks off. International Women’s Day was badass. I won a signed book pack of YA historicals. And Girl Scout cookies came at literally the best possible time.

I’m happy. I’m really happy, and looking back on where I was a year ago, I’m so happy I’m happy.

I’ll be spending the rest of this week working on finals exams, so it’ll be the second week in a row with no writing progress to report. (Last week was actually the busiest for me, since studying for finals will take less work than writing papers.) Until then:

Print

SCHOOL RECAP:

Intro to Lit wrapped up the Victorians with some more Alfred Tennyson (“The Charge of the Light-Brigade” and “Ulysses”) and Robert Browning (“My Last Duchess”), then moved into our final unit, Transcendentalism, and Ralph Waldo Emerson (the Divinity School Address, “Self-Reliance”, “Experience”). Children’s Lit ended the quarter with modern Young Adult and THE ABSOLUTELY TRUE DIARY OF A PART-TIME INDIAN. Victorian Lit was an absolute delight–reread THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST.

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP:

No movies or books proper this week–had a lot of business to take care of–though my original pre-ordered copy of A Tyranny of Petticoats arrived in the mail and gah, it is gorgeous. I also finished the March issue of Poetry magazine. The standouts were a number of poems at the end from a show pairing Chicanx art with poetry–pretty neat, huh? My favorites were “Why Being ‘On Fire’ is for Everyone” by Iyawo (paired with Luis Jimenez’s sculpture Man on Fire) and “Last Meal: Breakfast Tacos, San Antonio, Tejas” by Laurie Ann Guerrero (paired with Chuck Ramirez’s photograph Breakfast Tacos). I also liked Tom Sleigh’s House of Fact, House of Ruin, particularly “The Eternal Dice.”

On the plus side, music was pretty good! I listened to an eclectic mix of pop numbers on repeat: stripped back indie synthpop (Haunted by You by Future Islands), a girl power anthem (Salute by Little Mix), ’90s R&B (No Scrubs by TLC), and the first Halsey ballad that I’ve really liked (Colors). Re-listened to Kat Edmonson’s “The Big Picture” and Allen Toussaint’s spine-tinglingly good “Southern Nights”. Charlie XCX’s Vroom Vroom EP. Also, The Last Shadow Puppets unveiled their title track for Everything You’ve Come to Expect, and considering how much I disliked Bad Habits, I was really pleasantly surprised! I love the Mini Mansions-esque ’60s beach psychedelia vibe. Video is quite sexy too:

This time next week, I’ll be back in SoCal, watching movies with my brother and spending time with the family. It’ll be all sorts of exciting–I have so many plans for diving back into writing!

Now to get back to work on my final paper…of course Daylight Savings came today…

giphy

Love, Caution,

Aimee

Leave a Reply

