Life Update

Spring, Women’s Empowerment, and Harry Potter: Life Update 2/22 – 2/28

It’s week 8 of winter quarter, and school is picking up. I got my second poetry packet back with some encouraging feedback (with the exception of my too-lovey love poems, which, ironically, weren’t about romantic love–interestingly enough, I notice I’ve done much better with poems that aren’t personal to me). My professor’s favorite poem in the batch I turned in for my final workshop critique, probably in the next two weeks. I’m also working on the first of my second round of papers. I’m writing about the “Woman Question” for Victorian Lit, of course.

The good news is spring is around the corner. Flowers have been blooming all around the city, which has worked wonders for my mood. There have also been some pretty great happenings this weekend. The highlight was Vagina*: Our Stories, a spoken-word benefit show hosted by the WRRC. It’s like The Vagina Monologues, but student-written and performed and more inclusive. It was fantastic. After tabling with CARE (for which I got a vulva art print!), I attended the show to support my Her Campus gals that were performing. You know the scene in (500) Days of Summer where Summer gets Tom to say “penis” louder and louder in the park? The show kicked off with that, but as an audience and with “vagina”, and got even more kickass from there with pieces on sexual assault, an identity outside the gender binary, being Solo Polyamorous, surviving abuse, being funny and female, and much much more. My Her Campus co-writers’ pieces were a gorgeous performance about Indian culture, Hindu conceptions of purity, and menstruation and a hilarious duet exploring the sensuous relationship between food and sex. It was eye-opening and amazing and I’m so glad I was able to go.

Sadly, I wasn’t able to attend the Harry Potter Alliance’s Yule Ball–combination of transportation issues and lack of people to come with me–but I didn’t mind too much, as the ticket cost goes to the charity She’s the First, which supports the education of girls in third-world countries. It’s just been a good week for supporting the sisterhood–today Her Campus had a staff photoshoot/sendoff for one of our editors, who’s graduating this quarter. A good week for women supporting women is a good week, period.

vstories_ar1

SCHOOL RECAP:

Intro to Lit has moved into the Romantic poets, which I’m very happy about. We spent last week on Wordsworth, namely the preface to Lyrical Ballads, “Nutting”, and “Ode: Intimations of Immortality”. Finished The Moonstone in Victorian Lit–it’s a good book, though I have to say the solution seems rather bizarre by modern standards (but the conclusion was perfect). Last week of assigned readings in my poetry workshop, and after a quarter un-learning issues of plot, we discussed some neat examples of narrative poetry, including “Forgotten Girlhood” by Laura Riding, “Snake” by D.H. Lawrence, and “The Death of the Turret Gunner” by Randall Jarrell. And in Children’s Lit:

harry_potter_and_the_prisoner_of_azkaban_us_cover

(!!!!!!!)

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP:

Finished two books this week: PEONY IN LOVE by Lisa See and THE SECRET GARDEN by Frances Hodgson Burnett! I was surprised by how engrossed I was by Peony in Love, considering Snow Flower and the Secret Fan (as fascinating as nu shu was) didn’t really grab me until the end. The Secret Garden was reliably enchanting after A Little Princess, and a rather interesting counterpart (and foil in the case of Mary Lennox), though I was a little disappointed with how much the book seemed to shift from her to Colin’s story. (Note: the flora-themed titles were unintentional.)

Went unexpectedly funky this week with Arthur Russell and Vulfpeck. That last one is kind of a weird case: don’t know if it’s a great album, on accord of being so damned diverse to the point of incoherency, but every individual track is good.

WRITING PROGRESS:

Since school is kicking into high gear as we move into spring, I’m temporarily moving my writing updates back to the end of my Life Updates. I plan on taking my time between this round of revision, but I did finish a new outline on Scrivener.

Oh, and I got my second honorable mention in a writing contest, this time courtesy of Publishing Crawl! My “overdone description”:

‘She was cute but hot at the same time, like a Bichon Frise poodle mix drizzled with Cognac and ignited to make a Flambé.’

Can I write intentionally bad writing, or what?

So yeah. Spring, women’s empowerment, and Harry Potter. I’ll just come out and say it: I like my life. I really do.

Love, Caution,

Aimee

Leave a Reply

