Life Update

Life Update: 2/8 – 2/14

Happy Valentine’s Day! I’m unattached, but the housemates are cool and 3/4 of them are unattached also, so we just got back from a V-Day picnic in the park. The roommate made this ♥fantastic♥ rice bun bibimbap burgers. I contributed lemon, spinach, and parmesan pasta, but let’s face it, it was all about the bibimbap. We also watched DEADPOOL–I’m mentioning that here because that’s relevant to Valentine’s Day, right? I dug it and damn, that gimp suit–er, costume. I’m enjoying a nice long weekend. The roommate and I studied in the park on Friday and wow, was it a nice day to be reading CHARLOTTE’S WEB for the first time! I also finally went to a Asian supermarket in Davis, Kim’s Mart. Was thrilled to buy some spicy bamboo and more instant noodles, as well as frozen bulgogi!

So this was a productive week. For starters, I GOT INTO THE CREATIVE WRITING HONORS PROGRAM!!! I’m so happy. Spring quarter registration also went well–I was able to get in BIS 101. I still won’t know my final schedule until Pass 2 – a few days after Pass 1, a 2-unit, student-led Children’s Fiction Workshop was announced that I would really like to take but would require me to swap my Biology section. We will see. Either way, I’m very happy and pleased and excited for spring.

Midterm season ended with my Intro to Lit paper due last Friday, so this week was pretty light academically. My extracurriculars, on the other hand, were pretty busy. Her Campus had Valentine’s Day tabling. I haven’t discussed my volunteering with CARE–Center for Advocacy, Resources, and Education–much. We provide confidential resources and promotes awareness of campus sexual assault, intimate partner violence, and stalking, and the week leading up to Valentine’s Day, appropriately, was very busy for us. We conducted two Healthy Relationships Bingo workshops, one with dorm resident advisors and one in conjunction with the Gender and Sexuality Commission and GenSex Week, which has some really fascinating programs (sadly, my Her Campus tabling duties prevented me from attending any, but topics included BDSM, sex work, and a Queer Movie Night with ‘happy, feel-good queer movies–yes, they exist!’, in the words of the LGBTQIA supervisor); for the GenSex one I was the first winner and received a $10 gift card to the Davis Co-Op! I haven’t been, so I’m happy to have the excuse.  On Tuesday, we supported Wear Orange Day for awareness of teen dating violence and also attended a really fascinating Interracial Dating Workshop from the  Multicultural Immersion Program. I wrote my Her Campus article for the week on CARE’s February activities (I was rather proud of the title, “Love, Respect, CARE: Cultivating Healthy Relationships”). I also found out HC x UCD is open to guest posts, which was great because one of my fellow volunteers has a really fantastic piece on counterintuitive victim behaviors that I was eager to send in.

Oh, and this was also a good week for rose-flavored foods (one of my fave kinds of foods).

SCHOOL RECAP:

Read Oliver Goldsmith’s “The Deserted Village” as well as George Crabbe’s rebuttal “The Village” in Intro to Lit. We also shifted the discussion across the Atlantic to talk about The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin. In Children’s Lit it was MARY POPPINS, and I had my drop quiz on Thursday (oy), but the embarrassment of that was counteracted by the sunshine and rainbows of the Honors Program later that day so it was all good. Victorian Lit made good on its promise to pick up as the quarter progressed. On Tuesday, we focused more on Emily Barrett Browning, namely two sonnets to George Sand and The Runaway Slave at Pilgrim’s Point (the latter which I *loved*). And on Thursday, we started THE MOONSTONE! I was really into Agatha Christie in middle school, and Thursday’s lecture was fascinating. We went over historical context and British imperialism in India, including a very real diamond with a bloody history of plunder: the Koh-i-Noor Diamond. Apparently to this day, only women in the British royal family will wear the diamond because of the legend that any man who does will be cursed. The legacy of imperialism is also still ongoing–India seems to have requested the diamond be returned several times, but Britain won’t budge. As for my Poetry workshop, I turned in my second poem on Tuesday–critique sessions will come next Thursday. I’m a little less nervous this time around. I had a really great office hours session with my professor and she was pretty encouraging and really helpful. We discussed stanzas and read some neat poems that included William Carlos Williams, William Blake, “Maggie & Molly & Milly and May” by e. e. cummings,  and “Ode to a Nightingale” by John Keats. Student presentations on “Longing for Death” by Thomas James and “Days” by Phillip Larkin.

queenmaryscrown
The Koh-i-Noor Diamond in Queen Mary’s Crown

BOOKS/MOVIES/MUSIC RECAP:

Besides the aforementioned Deadpool, I finished UNDER A PAINTED SKY by Stacey Lee. I really like it! I’m going to post my review soon, so I’ll go into more detail there!

Music was pretty cool this week. Strong Spotify discoveries, including Richard Swift, Thunderbitch, and Jib Kidder, and Lana Del Rey released an 11-minute video with Father John Misty for “Freak”! This is one of my favorite of her songs and gah, she and FJM are such a brilliant combo. Pretty neat, huh? Love her midriff-baring white lace top and hippie beads! And as a bonus, I was inspired by the video and some music-related reading for my McIntosh & Otis internship to listen to some old classical favorites from my piano lesson days, including Claire de Lune, Moonlight Sonata, Raindrop Prelude, Theme from Swan Lake, and Waltz of the Flowers. I also listened to some Galentine’s/Valentine’s stuff because I’m cheesy like that. Sweater-Kinney’s “Dig Me Out” for 2/13, Fleetwood Mac’s “Rumours” and Natalie Prass’s self-titled album for 2/14.

WRITING PROGRESS:

Haven’t made a whole lot of revision progress, but I’m in the process of looking for critique partners courtesy of Publishing Crawl! Nothing finalized yet, but fingers crossed!

Yowzers, these posts are getting longer and longer. I could probably stand to spend less time blogging and more time actually writing, huh? Ah, well.

Love, Caution,

Aimee

Leave a Reply

