Life Update

Life Update: 1/18 – 1/24

So this was an auspicious week: it started with Martin Luther King Jr. Day AND my grandmother’s 80th birthday, and it ended with my dad’s birthday today! Unfortunately, there were some tragic developments on what I’ve started thinking of as “the home front”–my family and community back home, as opposed to my life in college. I’m not quite willing to talk about these on the Internet, even if no one’s reading, but they were major enough that I couldn’t just leave them unacknowledged.

Just wrapped up the third week of the quarter, and things are starting to pick up academically. A lot of developments will get future blog posts: as outlined in “Poetry in Motion: The Chinese Cinema Trilogy“, I turned in my first packet of poems for my poetry workshop, as well as the poem to be critiqued on Tuesday. I finished my first leisure read of the year, which is also the first book for Emma Watson’s feminist book club, Gloria Steinem’s “My Life on the Road.” I also finished my first academic paper on Friday: a comparison of the traditional Grimm text of “Snow White” to Winter by Marissa Meyer, for my Children’s Literature class! Yes, that’s right, I got to write a college paper on The Lunar Chronicles!!

Cool happenings at Her Campus at UCD. Last night we had a winter quarter hangout, which was super fun. I also took part in filming a video for Her Campus at UC Davis (!!!) I’m really proud of last week’s article: I got to interview the amazing Stacey Lee, Davis law school alum, young adult author, and a member of the We Need Diverse Books campaign. Check it out here! Her historical western, about a Chinese-American violinist and runaway slave who disguise themselves as boys on the Oregon Trail (I’m not usually into the Gold Rush or the Oregon Trail, but how amazing does that sound???), UNDER A PAINTED SKY, has been on my radar for a while, and I finally ordered it! Look how gorgeous this is:

22501055

Oh, and I got into Neko Atsume. Seriously, how cute is this:

neko atsume

SCHOOL RECAP:
GULLIVER’S TRAVELS for my Intro to Lit Class, TREASURE ISLAND for Children’s Lit. Surprisingly, my favorite reads were for Victorian Lit: goodbye Thomas Carlyle essays and hello poetry. We read Robert Browning and Alfred, Lord Tennyson, including “My Last Duchess” and “The Lady of Shalott”, which I read in high school and really liked. It was neat to read more of their work.

Not a lot of books, movies, or music to report (though Arctic Monkeys’ seminal debut album, WHATEVER PEOPLE SAY I AM, THAT’S WHERE I’M NOT, turned 10, which was neat!) I messed around with some more pescatarian recipes. I made toasted green pepper, provolone, and fish stick sandwiches, which were actually pretty nice, as well as a snow pea, green pepper, and chili stir fry. Oh, and for my teacher’s assistant internship, the reading class I help out with went to the library and shared books they really liked and why. I joined in and pitched THE END, and really all of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS, to the class. One girl said afterward that she’d check the series out. Mission accomplished. (Tentatively optimistic about Neil Patrick Harris in the Netflix series.)

WRITING PROGRESS:

Edited about half of a chapter on Martin Luther King Jr. Day. I’m at something of a crossroads about the project right now. Don’t know if that’s a bad thing though…

Leave a Reply

